IN MEMORY OF BUNHONG

BUNChiều nay tôi đi phố về thấy cả nhà im lặng. Lên lầu thấy Quỳnh Hoa cũng im lặng, nhưng khi tôi đi qua nó, nó gọi: “Ông nội! Con mèo chết rồi!” Mặt đầy nước mắt. Ở nhà ai cũng nói chắc nó nhảy từ trên cây xuống và trượt chân té chết. Nhưng tôi không tin vì mèo là loài leo trèo rất giỏi, không bao giờ có chuyện mèo leo trèo mà bị té chết trong khi cây trước nhà không cao và mọc sát cổng nhà.
Tôi nghĩ có ai đó đánh chết nó và ném vào nhà tôi, hoặc là nó phá phách cái gì nhà họ bị họ ném từ trên lầu cao xuống sân nhà tôi.
Trước đây, khi còn ở Điện Biên Phủ tôi đã chứng kiến cảnh bà hàng xóm tên là bà Hai treo cổ con mèo của tôi bằng một sợi dây thòng lọng. Tôi đã phát hiện kịp và cứu được nó. Còn hôm nay không ai cứu được nó vì không ai biết nó đã bị giết như thế nào. Tội đã nói với cháu nội tôi, bé Quỳnh Hoa rằng không phải con mèo bị té chết mà bị người ta giết.
Vô trang FB của Quỳnh Hoa (Maria Dao) tôi đọc thấy những dòng đầY nước mắt sau đây:

IN MEMORY OF BUNHONG
April 10

When I first held you, BunHong, I promised I would give you a new life. That I would be your mother now. That when you die, you would die loved, cared for and cherished. But that time wasn’t supposed to be today, BunHong. You weren’t supposed to leave me. But you did and now whenever I want to see you, you won’t come running to me when I call your name. I would have to look at the dirt where you are buried, where you won’t be loved and cared for and cherished, and cry out your name.
So even though I want to see you there beside me when I wake up tomorrow, BunHong. Even though I want to forget even for a second, that you are still by my side when I wake up tomorrow, BunHong. I will remember. I will always remember that whenever you came running to me, BunHong, you made me feel like the center of the world. Now that you are gone, now that my sun and stars are gone, my world will be dark and cold again. I don’t want to be warm when you are cold too, BunHong. So until the next spring comes, I will be waiting for you, BunHong, my sun and stars.

2 comments on “IN MEMORY OF BUNHONG

Trả lời

